Pour-over coffee cabinet – ash and walnut – 2017

With Revati for Nandini

One of the most graceful people I know got hitched and moved to London.Somewhere between hailing a cab and finding your tooth brush, sorting out how you are going to brew a cup of coffee is the foremost priority when setting up shop in a new city.  As Vish and Nandini start a exciting new life together at least they will be caffinated

img_4987 img_4989 img_4990

The cabinet has a frame and panel door – with plenty of room for the raised panel to expand in the humid english weather. I messed around with several handles before settling on the simplest design.  The rejects are chew toys for the puppy if he can get a handle on them

img_4988 img_4986

I managed fairly tight dovetails and through tenons on the carcass.

img_4985

Inside the cabinet is everything one needs to make a pour-over coffee – from beans to grinder – from cone to pitcher.  Anthony Damico and I got the pitcher at the living history museum in Stockholm.  If anyone has a chance to go to Sweden – check out the two dozen or so log cabins and fully operational 1920’s woodshop – Anthony patiently watched as I took in all the sites with glee. Several years ago Nandini and I took a pottery class together – it was apt training to appreciate the skills of other.

img_4944 img_4945

I had help – Revati pounds through some pretty hard Ash.  I think next time around she is going to choose to work with pine or fir.

img_4946 img_4958 img_4960

I nailed the mitered dovetails!  I used the brace and bit to clean up most of the mortises – banging through the ash with just the chisel was creating a real racket. It turns out Revati is pretty good at sighting 90 degrees as I drill.  She hasn’t realized that she just signed up for a lot of work.

img_4957

Of much less help was this puppy who begrudgingly bid his time until he could return to his spot on the sofa. We are a far way off from fetching my mallet.

img_4955 img_4970 img_4969

Clara helped me get started on the raised panel.I messed around with a couple of techniques for cutting the panel.  I have an antique panel raiser but couldn’t match the results from a skewed rabbet plane.

img_4980

This thing is invariably going to have to hold up to a lot of spilled coffee; I got about five coats of polyurethane on before we had to jam it in a suit case. After the TSA agent at the airport determined it wasn’t a bomb ,he was really into chatting about all the design choices.

 

 

And in an English Cottage: The grand reveal.

 

5 thoughts on “Pour-over coffee cabinet – ash and walnut – 2017

  1. Very beautiful. Could you show a few more pictures, if you have them, on how you made the raised panel? I’m a relatively newbie. I can do the angles with my hand plane just fine. Where I could use some help, more detail is on how you got that nice flat step down next to the angled part part. It sounded like you used a skewed rabbet plane. Do you just need to be careful with the first few passes to establish the all? Many thanks.

  2. Pingback: 17th Century Joined Chest – Red Oak – 2016/2017 | raecreation

Leave a Reply

