Some Turnings

 

A simple joiner no more.  It’s a huge world out there and I am expanding my little part of it.  By coincidence or happenstance, this year I am focusing  all the woodworking skills outside the essential problem of joining two boards together.  A couple of weeks ago, I took a course on 16th century carving with Peter Follansbee.  As a house-warming present  Aaron Dibner-Dunlap got me a gift certificate for the Philadelphia Furniture Workshop and I put it use on a wood turning course with Mario Rodriguez.  The class really was a revelation – there are so many design elements

image

This is called a pummel and is not all that easy.

_DSC0080 image image

I turned two carvers mallet.  A step up from my first attempted at a turned mallet.

image

 

I turned two french door openers – if the need ever arrises I can hold zombies out with style

 

2 thoughts on “Some Turnings

  1. Pingback: Helper’s Tool Box – Mixed Woods – 2016 | raecreation

Leave a Reply

