Tea chest – maple/walnut – 2015:2016

I drink too much coffee and I shouldn’t read internet comments.  I know at least these two truths.  Perusing the infinite woodworking blogsphere I came across some joe-schmo claiming it couldn’t be done.  The author casually remarked that you can’t cut key mitered joints without a table saw or yet worse a router.  And so I set forth to make a keyed-mitered dovetail box with nothing more than my hands and a slew of fancy planes.  Miters in themselves are a weak joint – the key that cuts across the angle reinforces the joint by allowing cross grain gluing on both pieces.  The box sat unfinished for several month – so many in fact that I don’t have the same office to display it in.  Either way, the chest is designed to encourage me to reach for tea rather than coffee as the afternoon wears on and I have a hankering for something.  I used hard maple, left over from a tool caddie I made several years ago as the base of the box – each scrap finds its place with time.

image image

The chest is sized to hold tea bags on one side and tea canisters from Townsend on the other.  It is reminiscent in function to the chest I made for David, and in form to the box I made for Lisa.

image image

The top is black walnut – rather than using the method I learned from Roy Underhill – I attached a fence planed on a 1:6 angle to a skew plane.  If you are not going to get a dedicated panel raising plan this is about as easy as you can make the task.  Christopher Schwartz laid out the approach.

image  image

The trick was to size the keys correctly.  I planed a long board – and simply checked my angle against a bevel.   No fancy jigs required.  After the grooves were cut, I slide the keys into place and cleaned off the waste with a flush saw. Okay, it wasn’t quite that easy – usually it took a couple passes on the plane and strokes of the mallet to drive them home.

image image

Using the same bevel that I measured the angles on the keys – I marked the box, cut a series of kerfs and than cleaned out the rest with a chisel.

image

I had a little help from Ruffles even thought he didn’t like giving up the spotlight.

3 thoughts on “Tea chest – maple/walnut – 2015:2016

    • I didn’t – I transposed the keyed piece against the work to get the widths. Ideally I planed the piece which made up the keys to a consistent thickness.

  1. Pingback: Built-in Entry Bench – Poplar – 2016 | raecreation

Leave a Reply

